Graphic Novels
  System Video
  All Features


  PlayStation 3
  PlayStation 4
  Wii U
  Xbox 360
  Xbox One


Naruto: Uncut Box Set 12

Score: 80%
Rating: Teen
Publisher: Viz Media
Region: 1
Media: DVD/3
Running Time: 350 Mins.
Genre: Anime/TV Series/Box Set
Audio: English, Japanese
Subtitles: English


  • Production Art
  • From Sketch to Screen: Storyboard Comparison Episode 150
  • Volume 13 Sneak Preview
  • Episodes:
    1. A Battle of Bugs! The Deceivers and the Deceived!
    2. Blaze Away, Byakugan! This is My Ninja Way!
    3. Funeral March for the Living
    4. A Lesson Learned: The Iron Fist of Love!
    5. The Enemy of the Byakugan
    6. The Dark Creeping Clouds
    7. Raiga's Counterattack
    8. Run! The Curry of Life!
    9. Follow My Lead! The Great Survival Challenge
    10. The Bounty Hunter from the Wilderness
    11. Hunt or Be Hunted?! Showdown at the O.K. Temple!
    12. The Appearance of Strange Visitors
    13. The Cursed Warrior
    14. The Tactician's Intent

Naruto: Uncut Box Set 12 has quite a few adventures crammed together for the little orange-clad ninja.

Not only does this box set finish off the Bikochu Beetle story-arc, but it runs Naruto through a few other storylines before starting up a lengthy six-episode arc.

When we last left Naruto, he, Hinata, Kiba and Shino were looking for a rare beetle that could hunt down Sasuke simply by exposing it to his scent. The problem is, there is a rival clan of insect handlers also after the beetle, and they now hold Hinata hostage.

These two episodes are followed by Naruto joining up with Rock Lee, Neji and Tenten as they go to help a poor neighboring village who is hounded by one of the Seven Swordsman of the Mist. Long-time followers of the show will remember that we've already seen two of these swordsman, Zabuza from Naruto's early adventures and Kisame, one of the Akatsuki. Naruto tags along on this mission hoping to find some information concerning Sasuke since the swordsman Raiga is connected to Kisame, who is connected to Itachi, Sasuke's brother.

This six-episode adventure turns out to be pretty tough, though. Not only does Lee introduce the rest of the gang to a little curry shop that seems to be able to restore anyone to full health (if you can stand the spice), but they will need this curry many times since Raiga has control over lightning and seems to be able to see though all of their illusions. Could he posses an ocular jutsu even more powerful than Neji's Byakugan?

Naruto will also once again join Hinata and Kiba on a mission where they try to hunt down a known criminal, but when other bounty hunters get in the way, they find they might not be successful. This two-part story is sandwiched between a couple of one-off episodes. One has Naruto having to lead some academy students on a survival exercise, while the other episode has a pair of imposters sneaking into the village disguised as Rock Lee and Might Guy. Only their costumes don't seem to fool anyone ... except Naruto, of course.

Naruto: Uncut Box Set 12 wraps up with the first two episodes in a new adventure where Naruto joins Neji and Tenten in the Land of Birds as they look into a mystery of a ghost warrior. But as they dig deeper, they find that not everyone is as loyal to the Land of Birds' feudal lord as they should be.

Naruto: Uncut Box Set 12 has a lot going on in it. There are lots of adventures for any fan of the show, and while a few of them are a bit sillier than normal, they are still enjoyable. Fans of the show should check out this boxed set to see a lot of action with some of the minor characters like Tenten, Neji, Hinata and Kiba.

-J.R. Nip, GameVortex Communications
AKA Chris Meyer

Anime Naruto: Uncut Box Set 11

Game Vortex :: PSIllustrated