All Features


  PlayStation 3
  PlayStation 4
  Wii U
  Xbox 360
  Xbox One


New Guitar Hero Gets a KISS

Company: Activision
Product: Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock

The new entry in the wildly popular plastic guitar empire, Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, will get a special kick of inspiration as Rock Royalty, Gene Simmons, will be guiding would-be rock legends through the single player portion of Activision's next musical outing. The KISS frontman will be narrating a story-driven Quest Mode as gamers pick their rockers and guide them through an epic journey of metal and madness.

The game will be based on the Guitar Hero 5 engine and handled by series veterans Neversoft. The new storyline centers on exploring the path a rocker must take in order to become a Rock God. Starting with the infamous rock club CBGB's in New York City and traveling to the imaginative fields of Rock & Roll history, gamers will utilize each rockers' powers to take down the evil and oppresive "Beast."

Quest-guide and rock icon Gene Simmons said:

"It was an honor and privilege to narrate Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock, even more so, to voice the Demi God. From the God of Thunder to the Demi-God, how cool is that..."

One of the new features that will be added to Warriors of Rock is the inclusion of song specific challenges via Quickplay+. Each song on the 90 track songlist (the largest list so far) will include 13 unique gameplay challenges such as Band Streak and a new "rank up" progression system. Online leaderboards will reflect, track, and compare all challenges and high-scores available through Quickplay+.

Though none of that matters if the songs aren't quality. A small preview of some of the songs playable in Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock has many fans excited as the series moves back into its rock roots. Some of the songs that will be on the disc include:

  • AFI - "Dancing Through Sunday"
  • Avenged Sevenfold - "Bat Country"
  • Black Sabbath - "Children Of The Grave"
  • Buzzcocks - "What Do I Get?"
  • Children Of Bodom - "If You Want Peace... Prepare For War"
  • The Cure - "Fascination Street"
  • Def Leppard - "Pour Some Sugar On Me (Live)"
  • Dethklok - "Bloodlines"
  • DragonForce - "Fury of the Storm"
  • Drowning Pool - "Bodies"
  • Foo Fighters - "No Way Back"
  • Foreigner - "Feels Like The First Time"
  • Jane's Addiction - "Been Caught Stealing"
  • KISS - "Love Gun"
  • Megadeth - "Sudden Death"
  • Metallica & Ozzy Osbourne - "Paranoid (Live)"
  • Muse - "Uprising"
  • My Chemical Romance - "I'm Not Okay (I Promise)"
  • Queen - "Bohemian Rhapsody"
  • Rammstein - "Waidmanns Heil"
  • The Rolling Stones - "Stray Cat Blues"
  • Silversun Pickups - "There's No Secrets This Year"
  • Slayer - "Chemical Warfare"
  • ZZ Top - "Sharp Dressed Man (Live)"

To mark the special occasion, Activision has debuted the new teaser on where you can get a sneak peak at the Quest Mode as well as the new "rock powers" that each character will possess. Guitar Hero: Warriors of Rock will be arriving this Fall with a newly re-designed guitar controller and available on every current console.

-HanChi, GameVortex Communications
AKA Matt Hanchey

Related Links:

Windows Company of Heroes goes Free-to-Play! Multiplatform THQ To Unleash Red Faction: Armageddon

Game Vortex :: PSIllustrated